Camera Shopping! Nikon D5200

Login to post comments
21 posts / 0 new
Kristen K.'s picture
Camera Shopping! Nikon D5200

As it looks like I'm going to have some mad money to spend, my family is insisting that I finally buy myself the "real" camera that I've been talking about getting for years and years. So I've been camera shopping online the past few days.

I think that I've settled on the Nikon D5200 kit with 18-55mm lens.

I rented a D5000 last year while I was in Disney and I loved it. This one is a little bit better than that, I think it has enough simple features that I can use it on automatic sometimes while I'm still learning how to use the more advanced features. There's a lot of room for me to grow with this camera while still being easy enough for my daughter to use.

Does anyone have a D5200? I'd love to hear thoughts and opinions of it if you have used one. I also took a look at the Rebel T4i for comparison and the reviews of the Nikon lenses I've read seem just a little bit better.

I'm also looking at getting the Nikon 33mm Prime Lens and a Nikon 55-200mm Zoom if the budget allows.

I am *SO* excited, this has been on my bucket list for ever.

The Colonel's picture

the 5300 is out and is loaded

See my Disney Photography at...
https://www.flickr.com/photos/rt_images/

DVC owner since 2002 BCV/BWV/BLT/VGC

RobynPrincess's picture

Sy doesn't have it but he knows a little about cameras and said it's a really good camera, but he said the same as colonel, go for the 300 if you can stretch the extra x

Our Very Merry 24 nighter Nov/Dec 15
Watson's go West May 15
The one with all the birthdays Oct 14 4 Big Birthdays and a Vow Renewal thrown in
The OMG trip June 14 30th Birthday present from the hubs
Girly trip March 14 A last min cheapy week
September 13 our first all DVC stay
TR May 2013 the last min bargain trip offsite
Oct 2012 TR with a cruise!big family trip featuring the beach club, AKL, the dream and a villa offsite