Planning for 2012

Login to post comments
8 posts / 0 new
Kris1971's picture
Planning for 2012

Hi Folks. I'm looking for some expertise on something I have never done before....visit WDW in December. I have always wanted to see the world decorated for Christmas, and 2012 may just be the year. I'm taking my niece and nephew (8 and 5 years old) to WDW (along with my brother and his wife, my parents and my husband) - basically a true family trip. I'm leaning towards either December 5th- 9th or 12th - 16th (both Wednesday - Sunday), and will likely book a value resort. Any recommendations on where to stay and what we defintely need to see while there in December? I've heard that attending Mickey's Christmas party at night is a must do. Has anyone done that before? The trip is in the early planning stages, so I'm open to any and all advice. Thanks!

JoAnn C's picture

How exciting. I will be attending Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party for the first time this year. There is also the Candlelight Processional at Epcot going on during that time. I've only stayed at Pop Century and love it. The new resort Art of Animation will be open when you visit next year.

Hi Kris! That's a great time to go - we went in 2010 that first weekend in December - the best of it all- lighter crowds and all the decorations! Here's my advice:

1. From what I understand, usually the taping of the Regis & Kelly Christmas parade takes place that first Saturday in December. And it's in MK. From what I hear, MK is a complete ZOO that day. We avoided it completely and went to another park that day. I'm not sure what they will do this year or next though, with Regis retiring. Will they still tape a parade? Not sure. But worth keeping an eye on when planning.

2. Must see: The Osborne Spectacle of Lights at Hollywood Studios. No additional charge over and above park admission, and it is just amazing. Happened every night.