ABC News Recognized with Five Edward R. Murrow Awards by the Radio Television Digital News Association

The Radio Television Digital News Association recently recognized ABC News and ABC News Radio with five Edward R. Murrow Awards for reporting on several news stories in the last year.

World News with Diane Sawyer was honored with a Murrow Award for Best Newscast for its special one-hour edition of World News from Newtown United Methodist Church following the shooting tragedy in Newtown last December. The broadcast featured Sawyer's interview with Kaitlyn Roig, a teacher at Sandy Hook Elementary.

The entire news division at ABC News was honored for Best Breaking News Coverage for its coverage of the tragedy in Newtown. This news coverage included more than five hours of live news anchored by Diane Sawyer and David Muir, special hour-long editions of World News with Diane Sawyer, 20/20, Nightline, and This Week with George Stephanopoulos.

ABC News Radio was honored for their coverage of the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary with the Murrow Award for Audio Breaking News Coverage. ABC's Aaron Katersky was the first network radio correspondent to give live reports from the scene at Sandy Hook Elementary School, and the continued coverage included exclusive interviews with young survivors, parents, and the hero teachers.

The news radio network was also honored for Audio Continuing Coverage for their coverage of Hurricane Sandy. This coverage lasted from the time the storm approached the Jersey Shore through the storm and up through the time the power finally came back on in Manhattan. ABC News stayed in the storm ravaged areas and continued to monitor the progress months after the storm.

And finally, ABC News Radio was honored with the Murrow Award for Audio News Series for their Your Voice, Your Vote series during the 2012 Presidential Election. This series of reports was a year-long news story spanning the campaign up through the election.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television, and online news organizations around the world.
The awards will be presented in New York City on October 14.

Story by Traci C., Source

Kristen K. wrote on Fri, 06/28/2013 - 12:57:

Kristen K.'s picture

Woot! Go Diane :-) I've always trusted ABC as my new source.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly. If you have a Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address you provide, it will be used to display your avatar.

More information about formatting options